Beverly Hills Unified School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Click here to apply for Future Focused Schools Team!

Title IX - Sexual Discrimination

Sex Equity: Title IX Notifications – EC 221.61
Title IX is a federal law that was passed in 1972 to ensure that male and female students and employees in educational settings are treated equally and fairly. It protects against discrimination based on sex, including sexual harassment, and transgender students or students who do not conform to sex stereotypes. State law also prohibits discrimination based on gender (sex), gender expression, gender identity, and sexual orientation.
 
The Title IX school coordinator for each school is listed below:
 
Beverly Vista - Principal Christian Fuhrer - cfuhrer2@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100x3001
El Rodeo - Princiapl Kevin Allen - kallen@bhusd.org -  310-551-5100x4500
Hawthorne - Principal Michelle Dar - mdar@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100x6293
Horace Mann - Principal Dana Findley -  dfindley@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100x7105
BHHS - Assistant Principal Phil Wenker - pwenker@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100x8355
Moreno - Chief Academic Officer Jennifer Tedford - jtedford@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100x2240
 
The Title IX coordinator for BHUSD is Chief Business Officer La Tanya Kirk-Carter Latham and may be reached at lkirk@bhusd.org. You may file a Title IX complaint by visiting http://www.bhusd.org/parents/uniform_complaint_procedures.jsp
 
The link to the United States Department of Education Office for Civil Rights' complaint form and contact information is below:  https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/complaintintro.html
 
The link to the California Department of Education Office of Equal Opportunity is below:
 
 
Information about  Education Code section 221.9 (Competitive Athletics) is located below: