BHUSD Board of Education Passes Vaping Resolution

RESOLUTION NO. 2019-2020-011

Whereas a significant percentage of Beverly Hills High School and Beverly Vista Middle School students smoke e-cigarettes (also known as “vaping”) in violation of District regulations;

Whereas the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported that as of December 10, 2019, 2,409 hospitalizations and 52 deaths are attributable to lung injuries as the result of vaping products laced with vitamin E acetate, and the best way for people to ensure they are not at risk is to refrain from the use of all vaping products, and vaping products should never be used by youths or young adults;

Whereas The National Institutes of Health reported that 80 percent of youths who vape use flavors, and flavored e-cigarettes are high in nicotine content, and nicotine is addictive and changes the teen-age brain and can permanently affect attention, learning and memory;

Whereas the Food and Drug Administration is investigating more than 120 reports of seizures and other neurological symptoms linked to vaping;

Whereas the California Department of Public Health urges everyone to quit vaping altogether, no matter the substance or source;

Whereas Governor Newsom has issued a vaping epidemic executive order stating “With mysterious lung illnesses and deaths on the rise, we have to educate kids and do everything we can to tackle this crisis”;

Whereas the latest annual poll by the National Institute of Drug Abuse found that vaping by 12th graders has doubled over the past year;

Whereas the Governing Board of BHUSD is cognizant of its responsibility for the safety and well-being of all students at the schools;

And Now Therefore, the Governing Board of BHUSD does hereby resolve to oversee a multi- faceted educational campaign to eliminate student vaping at BHHS and BVMS.

APPROVED, PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Education of the Beverly Hills Unified School District this 28th day of January, 2020 unanimously by President, Isabel Hacker, Vice President, Rachelle Marcus, Board Member, Tristen Walker-Shuman, Board Member, Mel Spitz and Board Member, Noah Margo.
Published Print