Title IX - Sexual Discrimination

Sex Equity: Title IX Notifications – EC 221.61
Title IX is a federal law that was passed in 1972 to ensure that male and female students and employees in educational settings are treated equally and fairly. It protects against discrimination based on sex, including sexual harassment, and transgender students or students who do not conform to sex stereotypes. State law also prohibits discrimination based on gender (sex), gender expression, gender identity, and sexual orientation.

 

Our District Administration and the Title IX Coordinator are aware of and acknowledge the new Title IX regulations released on May 6, 2020 and effective as of August 14, 2020. 

Our Title IX team has received training on these new regulations on October14th and November 4th, 2020.

Please click on the link to review these training materials

Title IX Training Material

 

Definitions: Sexual Harassment Title IX

Conduct on the basis of sex that satisfies one or more of the following:

1. Quid Pro Quo: Employee conditions the provision of an aid, benefit, or service of the recipient on the Complainant’s participation in unwelcome sexual conduct;
2. Hostile Environment: Unwelcome conduct determined by a reasonable person to be so severe, pervasive and objectively offensive that it effectively denies a person equal access to the recipient’s education program or activity.
3. Sexual Assault (20 U.S.C. 1092(f)(6)(A)(v))
4. Dating violence (34 U.S.C. 12291(a)(10))
5. Stalking (34 U.S.C. 12291(a)(30

 

Filing a TITLE IX Complaint - Students or parents/guardians should report a Title IX complaint to the school administrator who has been trained in Title IX within 6 months from the date the alleged incident occurred or first obtained knowledge of the alleged incident. Complainants have a right to a timely and informal resolution at the school site if feasible. If the complainant is dissatisfied with the school-site decision. Student / parent guardian complaints shall be submitted in written form This will begin the investigation process which must be completed within 60 days. Complainant does have a right to appeal the decision.

 
The administrators for each school site are listed below:
 
Beverly Vista Middle School - Principal  Kevin Allen - kallen@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100 x3001
Hawthorne - Principal Sarah Kaber - skaber@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100 x 6293
Horace Mann - Principal Craig Bugbee - cbugbee@bhusd.org -310-551-5100 x7105
BHHS - Assistant Principal Jill Hunt - jhunt2@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100 x 8345
Moreno - Dustin Seemann Assistant Superintendent of Education Services - dseemann@bhusd.org - 310-551-5100 x2240
 
The Title IX Coordinator for BHUSD is the Coordinator of Student Services Phil Wenker and may be reached at pwenker@bhusd.org
You may file a Title IX complaint by visiting http://www.bhusd.org/parents/uniform_complaint_procedures.jsp
 
The link to the United States Department of Education Office for Civil Rights' complaint form and contact information is below:  https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/complaintintro.html
 
The link to the California Department of Education Office of Equal Opportunity is below:
 
 
Information about  Education Code section 221.9 (Competitive Athletics) is located below: